Review: Chiang Rai Condotel

We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post.

Hotel: Chiang Rai Condotel

Date: May 5th, 2016

Room: Standard Double Room

Overview

We had a lot of drama upon arriving in Chiang Rai. Firstly the hotel seemed confused that we had booked online and it took a little convincing to get them to have a look. They found us, of course. I think they were new to Booking.com and hadn’t expected it. We are quite confused as there were around three people hanging around the reception area. They looked really young and we had no idea what was going on. That being said they were very helpful and made some calls to help us track down a lost phone and got us bikes delivered to go collect it. Their directions and map drawing were, however, terrible and resulted in us being lost in a hail shower for hours.

Tip read: Biking out the back roads in Chiang Rai

The hotel was a bit more shabby than the ones we had seen so far. There was parts of the elevator taped together, and the rooms were older and more poorly decorated. We weren’t complaining though, they were amazing for what we paid.

Location

The Chiang Rai Condotel was located outside of the centre of Chiang Rai in the north. This made it hard to find food. We were turned aware often by people who seemed to not want westerners in. Other places had no English on the menu. There were no shops nearby and no typical 7-11 we could go to. The location was good for seeing more of the natural beauty though.

Chiang Rai Condotel
View over Chiang Rai

We drove out the back and into the country and it did not take long. We saw gorgeous nature, real Thai villages, mountains and jungle along with elephants and gorgeous rivers.

Click here to save 10% on the White Temple trip

Chiang Rai Condotel
Elephant village

Sleep

I found it harder to sleep here. The fan was right above the bed and the aircon was a bit noisy. Nothing too bad though! I did manage to sleep and in a comfortable, clean room, which is what matters.

Tip read: From Chiang Rai – Koh Samui

Clientele

A lot of the people staying here were long-termers. They were renting a condo-room and staying for more than a day or two. We met many types of people including retired people, older travelers trying to escape the madness and we also met some teachers.

Click here to save £15 on your hotel in Chiang Rai

My favourite part

The cost was amazing for what we got. And we had the use of the pool. They even let us stay in the pool for a short time after checking out until our taxi (which they booked for us) arrived to take us to the airport.

Chiang Rai Condotel
Chiang Rai Condotel pool

My least favourite part

Unfortunately I felt quite uncomfortable in Chiang Rai in general because of the way we were treated as westerners. Specifically to do with this hotel I felt uncomfortable when the reception had no idea what we were talking about when we said we booked on Booking.com

Click here to book the cheapest flights to Chiang Rai

You can read more about my time in Chiag Rai here or you can book Chiang Rai Condotel here.

Chiang Rai Condotel in Chiang Rai #review #thailand
Pin me!

 

Chiang Rai Condotel and why we liked it #chiangrai #thailand
A very traditional city in Thailand! Please pin!

 

Share this:

18 Comments

  • What a shame that you didn’t enjoy Chiang Rai as much as you thought you would. A noisy fan would keep me awake too. I can’t cope with noise or light when I sleep because I am a very light sleeper.

  • Loving the outside pool and the surrounding views. Would totally love to stay here. Also loving the honesty of the review. Great post 🙂

  • Interesting. I have read a bit on Chaing Rai before, and it was always so positive. Sorry you had a not so great experience. Racial profiling has such a negative impact on a visit.

    • It really put me off, we hear so many bad things about Thailand or people traveling and in those moments when we were being pushed away I started to get really bad ansiety

  • It was awful that you were not able to find food immediately especially if you were with children. I have hyperacidity and eating some snacks is very important. The condotel should have offered some free biscuits or peanuts. It was odd that the staff did not know much about bookig.com. He/she must be a new employee but there should be someone who is knowledgeable about online bookings.

  • I always worry when I book a small property on a third party site – did the booking really go through? And it always puts me off when they ‘can’t find me’ – don’t they go through that day’s bookings first thing in the morning to make sure they are prepared? However, a nice pool and a great price is always a bonus.

  • I prefer hotels more centrally located just to make sure I can have food at any time. lol. It’s a shame you didn’t have a very good experience, but at least you enjoy what looks like an amazing pool 😉

  • Sorry to hear you felt uncomfortable in Chiang Rai – it’s definitely surprising that they were taken aback that you had booked online – I would have thought that if you offered this option you would be set up for it. But if you got an incredible price which made up for where it was lacking in other areas, I can see how it could come to be a win overall. Thanks for the honest overview … I would probably aim for the stairs though lol I don’t know if I would trust an elevator which was taped together!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge